علم أمراض الاضطرابات الهضمية

كيف يمكنني معرفة ما إذا كنت أعاني من مرض الاضطرابات الهضمية؟

by بول أبرامسون MD

كثيرًا ما أرى مرضى قلقين بشأن حساسية الغلوتين أو مرض الاضطرابات الهضمية. في الواقع ، هذه مشكلة شائعة ويشعر الكثير من الناس بالتحسن إذا أزالوا الأطعمة المصنعة ، والغلوتين على وجه الخصوص ، من نظامهم الغذائي.

المشكلة هي أنه من المهم كيف تقوم بفحص استجابة جسمك للجلوتين.

ما هو مرض الاضطرابات الهضمية؟

مرض الاضطرابات الهضمية هو استجابة مناعية ذاتية للجلوتين الذي يتم تناوله في الطعام. بعبارة أخرى ، يهاجم جهازك المناعي جسمك لأنه يتفاعل بشكل غير لائق مع الغلوتين (الموجود في الحبوب مثل القمح والجاودار والحنطة) الذي تتناوله. يمكن أن يكون لمرض الاضطرابات الهضمية جميع أنواع الآثار الضارة على الجسم ، بدءًا من الإسهال إلى فقر الدم إلى تلف الأعصاب وزيادة معدلات الإصابة ببعض أنواع السرطان.

علم أمراض الاضطرابات الهضمية

لمزيد من المعلومات حول مرض الاضطرابات الهضمية ، يمكنك التحقق من ذلك هذه المقالة على UpToDate.com.

كيف يمكن تشخيص مرض الاضطرابات الهضمية بشكل أفضل؟ 

هناك فرق مهم بين الغلوتين حساسية و صحيح الداء البطني. تعتبر حساسية الغلوتين أكثر شيوعًا ، ويمكن تحسينها أو عكسها عن طريق تحسين الصحة العامة للغشاء المخاطي المعوي والجهاز المناعي. ومع ذلك ، يميل مرض الاضطرابات الهضمية إلى أن يكون مشكلة مدى الحياة ويتطلب إزالة صارمة للغاية لجميع الغلوتين من النظام الغذائي ، إلى الأبد. يمكن أن تؤدي عواقب عدم إزالة الغلوتين بشكل صارم ، إذا كنت تعاني من مرض الاضطرابات الهضمية ، إلى زيادة خطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب والسرطان والأمراض الخطيرة الأخرى.

لذلك أوصي بشدة أن يخضع الجميع للاختبار الصحيح ، بواسطة معمل مرجعي قياسي ، لمرض الاضطرابات الهضمية قبل يزيلون الغلوتين من نظامهم الغذائي. إذا أجريت الاختبارات بعد التخلص من الغلوتين ، فغالبًا ما تكون طبيعية بشكل خاطئ ، ولن تعرف. مرة أخرى ، يجب أن تستهلك كمية من الغلوتين للحصول على نتيجة اختبار دقيقة.

إذا كان لديك فقط حساسية من الغلوتين (تم تشخيصها من خلال تجربة إزالة وإعادة تحدي) ، فهناك أمل في أن تتمكن من إصلاح نفاذية الأمعاء ولم تعد بحاجة إلى أن تكون مثاليًا بشأن تجنب الغلوتين. ومع ذلك ، إذا كنت تعاني من مرض الاضطرابات الهضمية بناءً على هذه الاختبارات ، فيجب عليك التخلص من الغلوتين بشكل صارم لبقية حياتك.

إنه تمييز مهم.

ما هي الاختبارات الأنسب؟

عادةً ما أوصي بفحص ملف الأجسام المضادة IgA (مضاد لـ tTG IgA) ومستوى الغلوبولين المناعي A (IgA) في الدم. هناك ظروف معينة تتطلب إجراء اختبارات دم أخرى ، وحتى الخزعات بالمنظار ، ولكن يمكن لمعظم الناس الاعتماد على هذين الاختبارين البسيطين. ومع ذلك ، إذا كان إجمالي مستوى IgA منخفضًا ، فيجب على المرء الحصول على مزيد من الاستشارات لمعرفة أفضل السبل للحصول على نتيجة اختبار دقيقة.

كم تكلفة هذه الاختبارات؟

عادةً ستنفق حوالي 80-120 دولارًا للاختبارات المعملية نفسها ، اعتمادًا على المكان الذي تذهب إليه. قد يغطيها التأمين إذا كنت قد أجريت هذه الاختبارات في مختبر مرجعي قياسي ، أمر به طبيب ، وكانت لديك أعراض "تبرر طبيًا" الاختبارات.

ماذا لو تخلصت بالفعل من الغلوتين؟

لديك خياران. استمر في الابتعاد عن الغلوتين بشكل صارم إلى الأبد (أي افترض أنك مصاب بمرض الاضطرابات الهضمية). أو يمكنك إعادة تناول بعض الغلوتين يوميًا لمدة 4-6 أسابيع ثم إجراء فحوصات الدم.  قد يستغرق الأمر حقًا هذا الوقت الطويل لبدء صنع الأجسام المضادة مرة أخرى بعد التخلص من الغلوتين.

أين يمكنني إجراء هذه الاختبارات؟

هنا في كاليفورنيا ، يجب طلب المختبرات من قبل مقدم رعاية صحية مرخص. لذلك ستحتاج إلى زيارة الطبيب الذي يرغب في القيام بذلك نيابة عنك. حتى أفضل ، واحد (مثل طبيب هنا في مجموعة دكتورتي الطبية) من يعرف تكلفة الأشياء ومن يمكنه الحصول على أسعار عادلة وشفافة في الاختبارات المعملية. يمكنك أيضًا طلب هذه الاختبارات عبر الإنترنت من شركات خارج الدولة ، غالبًا بتكلفة أعلى إلى حد ما ، دون زيارة الطبيب.

ماذا لو لم أكن متأكدًا مما يجب فعله؟

بكل الوسائل ، راجع طبيبًا يعرف هذه الأشياء ، والذي يمكنه مساعدتك في شرح خياراتك والتأكد من اكتشاف الأمور بشكل صحيح. مثلنا ، إذا كان بإمكانك القدوم لرؤيتنا في سان فرانسيسكو.

Celiac Pathology

How can I find out if I have celiac disease?

by Paul Abramson MD
Bitter Pill: Why Medical Bills are Crushing Us. Investigative reporting at its best from Stephen Brill. #costsofcare
Why the #QuantifiedSelf Movement Will Continue to Make Inroads in Medicine

I often see patients who are concerned about gluten sensitivity or celiac disease. Indeed, that is a common problem and many people do feel better if they removed processed foods, and gluten in particular, from their diet.

The problem is that it matters how you go about investigating your body’s response to gluten.

What is celiac disease?

Celiac disease is an auto-immune response to gluten ingested in food. In other words, your own immune system attacks your body because it inappropriately reacts to gluten (contained in grains like wheat, rye and spelt) that you eat. Celiac disease can have all sorts of harmful effects on the body, ranging from diarrhea to anemia to nerve damage to increased rates of certain cancers.

Celiac Pathology

For more information on celiac disease, you can check out this article on UpToDate.com (http://www NULL.uptodate NULL.com/contents/celiac-disease-in-adults-beyond-the-basics).

How can celiac disease be best diagnosed? 

There is an important difference between gluten sensitivity and true celiac disease.  Gluten sensitivity is more common, and can potentially be improved or reversed by improving the overall health of the intestinal mucosa and immune system. Celiac disease, however, tends to be a life-long problem and requires very strict removal of all gluten from the diet, forever. The consequences of not removing gluten strictly, if you have true celiac disease, can be increased risk of heart disease, cancer, and other serious illnesses down the line.

So I strongly recommend that everyone get properly tested, by a standard reference lab, for celiac disease before they remove gluten from their diet.  If you do the tests after eliminating gluten, they often falsely come up normal, and you won’t know. Again, you must be consuming some amount of gluten to get an accurate test result.

If you just have gluten sensitivity (diagnosed by an elimination-rechallenge experiment), there’s hope that you can fix your intestinal permeability and no longer have to be perfect about gluten avoidance.  However, if you have true celiac disease based on these tests, you must eliminate all gluten, strictly, for the rest of your life.

It’s an important distinction.

What tests are most appropriate?

I usually recommend checking only a serum tissue transglutaminase IgA antibody (anti-tTG IgA) and a serum total immunoglobulin A (IgA) level. There are certain circumstances when other blood tests, and even endoscopic biopsies, are required, but most people can rely on these two simple tests.  However, if the total IgA level is low, one must get further consultation to figure out how best to get an accurate test result.

How much do these tests cost?

Typically you will spend around $80-120 for the lab tests themselves, depending on where you go. Insurance may cover them if you have them done at a standard reference laboratory, ordered by a medical doctor, and have symptoms that “medically justify” the tests.

What if I’ve already eliminated gluten?

You have two choices. Continue off gluten very strictly, forever (i.e. assume you have true celiac disease). Or, you can restart eating some gluten daily for 4-6 weeks and then do the blood tests.  It really can take that long to start making the antibodies again after you’ve eliminated gluten.

Where can I get these tests done?

Here in California, labs must be ordered by a licensed health care provider. So you’ll need to visit a doctor who’s willing to do this for you. Even better, one (like a doctor here at My Doctor Medical Group) who knows what things costs and who can get you fair and transparent pricing on the lab tests.  You can also order these tests online from out-of-state companies, often at somewhat higher cost, without seeing a doctor.

What if I’m not sure what to do?

By all means, see a doctor who knows about these things, who can help explain your options and make sure you figure things out correctly. Like us, if you can come see us in San Francisco.